DNA Results

Crichton quote2

I’m striving to be a leaf who knows her tree–the roots, the classification, the habitat(s) and her place on the tree.

My DNA results are in, and so I share them here mainly for future family who might be interested. Oh, how I wish my grandparents and 2nd and 3rd grandparents could talk to me through clues, let alone scientific analyses! Was it so much to ask of you guys to jot down a few things? Some crumbs? I would literally be happy for crumbs as in, “What did you like to eat???”

Well, here I am, in nutshell, or pie, as it were:

IMG_8069IMG_8070

So as I said on Facebook, I shall be celebrating St. Patrick’s Day like a boss. I believe my height (5’7″ or 5’8″) and my coloring, blonde and blue-eyed, are from the Scandinavian section. Of course, I’m wildly curious about the 1% Northern African, but I doubt I shall ever know what that’s about. And I’m wondering if the Scandinavian part is the Viking influence on Britain.

My own research that has crossed over the proverbial genealogy brick wall leads me to the Netherlands, and that area is part of the Western Europe slice of the pie. I expected the slice to be bigger, but I’ve come to understand the passing of DNA a little better now than before.

Please check out this fruit chart I swiped from a video by Ancestry.com explaining how we inherit our stuff.

fruit  Note the two sets of fruity grandparents at the top. Each person passes half of his/her DNA. So grandma on the far left there, she passed along the strawberry and the melon. She did not pass on the orange and the apple. Most people are under the impression that she would’ve passed half of each of her four fruits to her child. Not so. This does not negate any research that shows that Grandma did indeed come from the land where oranges grow; that remains true. The person at the bottom simple did not inherit the orange, so he is less orange-y. Interestingly, the sibling of the person at the bottom might have inherited the orange. That’s why sibs don’t always look alike.

But one thing is for sure, I’m more than half British. I believe that is owed to the Batt (paternal) and Garrett (maternal) lines. I am blaming them for my rosacea because pink cheeks seem very British to me. The Deckers and Delks are the West European and Netherlands influence.

So now what? Ancestry.com offers tips on cousins according to DNA and trees that we have created. I’m just beginning to find those and have sent some messages, but so far, no informational doors have swung wide open.

I spent hours today looking for any tidbit on my great grandma and her father. Her name was Addie Lucinda Berry Batt, and her death certificate lists George Berry as her dad. I believe they lived in Cuyahoga County, OH, but after phone calls and inquiries on Ancestry.com, I have hit the wall. No one seems to be searching for this one branch of my family. Don’t worry, ancestors, I’m looking for you. Love, your granddaughter.

* Addie and me. If I were squinting here, my eyes would slant down just like that, and my cheeks and nose look very similar. My chin is also starting to do that age thing. I’m your girl, Addie!

Addie Lucinda and William Batt 2kris and me profile bw

 

2 thoughts on “DNA Results

  1. Love this! I wasn’t surprised by your results. Mike says that you’re spot on about the Viking influence on England. I think I want to do this now. My dad did it, but he & his wife did it together & then he wouldn’t provide them with any info – just used the numbers on the kits – so when they got pretty much the same results back he decided it was fake. And now I don’t remember what his results were! Wish I could remember his login 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

