On Patriotism and Our Family’s History in the Revolutionary War

Published July 3, 2023 on Facebook

Let me clarify: I’m not so patriotic that I worship the flag or the country itself. I see the flaws. But several times a week, I speak with international students who express their desire, and those of many people they know, to come to the US.

You might think, as I did for a while, that other countries and cultures don’t respect or like us, and while that is often true, the opposite is also true. Some still see us as the Shining City on a Hill, so to speak. The Land of the free.

I’ve heard a lot through teaching. One student told me this week, “I’m not afraid to go out at night because we know there are cameras everywhere, and if we do anything wrong, we will pay.” This opened up a great discussion about risk being part of personal freedom, and how Americans do love their personal liberties. Great respectful discussion, pros and cons.

After these discussions with average citizens, I think about this country a lot. I’m not so sure we will be around forever as we know ourselves now; there are no guarantees. But I’m so grateful to have been born here. And I won’t apologize for that or forget the sacrifices made so that I can literally say out loud, without fear, “My country is flawed; I love my country.”

I had this framed for George this year. It’s a 100+ year old document that certifies that two of his ancestors were Patriots in the Revolutionary War.

Document shows that William Morse, George’s 5x grandfather, ended up in Decatur, IN, which begins his family’s history here. Also listed is Samuel Lovejoy. These two were father and son-in-law. Imagine being the daughter or wife of each in this war.

As for my family, I’m also working on being registered with the DAR for

Robert Dwighins, my 5x grand, who ended up in Anderson, IN

Lieutenant Gideon Chapin, my 5th, whose descendants also ended up in Anderson. Those descendants met, married, and helped create my father’s lineage.

George Joris Decker, my 5x, who ended up in Pulaski County, KY, and contributed to my mom’s lineage.

And that’s how I feel about Independence Day. Grateful, proud. 🇺🇸

Leave a comment